07 May 2019

At the HKRU Annual Awards Dinner last Friday, the rugby community recognised the contributions of 3 Hall of Fame inductees and also a new Honorary Member.


The Hall of Fame recognises those who boast a distinguished record of competitive achievement at the highest domestic & international level, with consideration given to integrity, sportsmanship and character; the class of 2019 consisted of 3 players who tick all those boxes, and more…

Andrew Chambers, Mark Wright and Rowan Varty all had distinguished international careers at both 7s and 15s, played in World Cups and Asian Games, proved themselves at the very highest level of the game, but perhaps even more importantly they have been role models for the sport over the past 2 decades, and have epitomized the values of rugby.  They came up through the local youth system, and have inspired generations of youngsters wishing to emulate their achievements – it was particularly fitting that they entered the hallowed Hall as a group!


One new Honorary Member of the Union was also announced at the dinner – this is recognition for someone who has demonstrated an exceptional commitment and assistance to the development and promotion of rugby in Hong Kong.

Doris Chow became the 23rd such Honorary Member, and there is really no aspect of the Hong Kong rugby community that she hasn’t contributed to; she has been an international player at 7s and 15s, she has been an international referee, she looked after the national players when she was with the Union, she has been national team manager, she has been a 7s Team Liaison Officer, she has served on the committees of DeA Tigers, the Referees Society, the Women’s 7s Committee, and currently chairs the Women’s Rugby Committee…the words “rugby” and “Doris” are synonymous in this town, and she has been at the forefront of women’s rugby development for well over two decades.

On behalf of the HKRU and the whole rugby community, congratulations to all 4 on their very well deserved recognition!

Andrew Chambers

  • XIIs – 16 caps
  • 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007 & 2008 HK7s
  • 2005 (HK) & 2009 (Dubai) RWC7s
  • XVs – 22 caps


Mark Wright

  • XIIs – 19 caps
  • 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 & 2010 HK7s
  • 2009 East Asian Games
  • 2006, 2010 & 2014 Asian Games
  • XVs – 19 caps


Rowan Varty

  • XIIs – 59 caps
  • 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 & 2017 Hong Kong Sevens. 
  • 2006 & 2010 Asian Games.
  • 2005 (HK), 2009 (Dubai) & 2013 (Moscow) RWC7s
  • 2009 East Asian Games
  • XVs – 43 caps