29 Aug 2022

At the 66th Annual General Meeting of the Hong Kong Rugby Union held on the 25th August 2022, Chris Brooke was elected as the 30th Chairman, succeeding Paddy Donovan who has been at the helm over the past three years. Also elected to the Board were David Scott and Olly Stratton, and as a result of the recent changes passed at last month’s EGM, HKRU CEO Robbie McRobbie will also become a Board member, along with three independent members who will be appointed in due course.

Chris, David and Olly all bring a wealth of rugby and business experience to the Board. Chris is a former Hong Kong international player, has completed two terms as the Union’s Director of Facilities, and is an Independent Non-Executive Director of Link REIT.

David has served on committees for both Kowloon and the Union, is a partner with Ernst & Young, and has been appointed as Kowloon Beavers captain for the upcoming season. Olly has been Chair of the Mini Rugby Union since 2017, following a successful stint as Valley Fort Chair, and has 35 years of management consulting experience under his belt.

“I am honoured to have been given this opportunity to take up the Chair of the Union,” said Chris. “The last three years have been a very challenging time for Hong Kong rugby, and I’d like to pay tribute to Paddy Donovan, Kim Kan and Ben Stobart, who leave the Board after helping to ensure that the Union was able to both survive the impact of the pandemic and be in a position where we can now move forward with renewed optimism. I would like to congratulate David and Olly on their election, and I very much look forward to working with the Board, the Union management team, the members of the HKRU and the entire community over the coming years.”