13 Jul 2019

Hong Kong has named its squad for the second match at the 2019 World Rugby U20 Trophy in Brazil against Tonga, (Saturday, 13th Jul, HKT 23.00).

Coach Mark Wright and the selection panel have made five changes in the starting fifteen for the Tongans, who edged Canada 26-25 in a combative opener that saw Tonga’s starting flanker dismissed from the tournament for a red card offence.

Hong Kong will be hoping to bounce back from a hefty 59-27 loss in their opening match against Portugal, one of the top sides at this level that have reached the junior championship qualifiers three times straight out of a tough European competition.

Two changes have been made in the starting pack for Tonga, with experienced campaigner Mikkel Christensen starting at tight head prop as last week’s starter Rory Cinnamond moves to the bench for the start. Hooker Callum Tam and loosehead prop Nick McGrory each get a second straight start.

Sam Tsoi moves from playing lock against Portugal to the flank for what is expected to be a bruising encounter with Tonga, pushing Oliver Overman to the bench and making room for Jon Howells in the engine room where he will partner James Rivers. Joe Knight and Hugo Christopher at No.8 round out the back row.

Changes in the backline come in the back three with Thaddeus Summers, who scored off the bench against Portugal, anchoring the line at fullback while a familiar pairing of Sam Down and Oliver Duffy man the wings, pushing last week’s trio of Tomek Tsang, Tiarnan Neville and Lucas Lacamp to the bench.

Recently capped captain Paul Altier, who led superbly against Portugal - top scoring for Hong Kong with 17 points, will again don the number ten jersey, supported by Premiership scrumhalf Henry Poon and a fresh crop of centres in Will Panday and Kyle Kitney outside.

Hong Kong U20 v Tonga (2019 WR U20 Trophy)

Nick McGRORY, 2. Callum TAM, 3. Mikkel CHRISTENSEN, 4. James RIVERS, 5. Jon HOWELLS, 6. Sam TSOI, 78. Joe KNIGHT, 8. Hugo CHRISTOPHER, 9. Henry POON, 10. Paul ALTIER, 11. Sam DOWN, 12. Will PANDAY, 13. Kyle KITNEY, 14. Oliver DUFFY, 15. Thaddeus SUMMERS, 16. NG Cheuk-wai, 17. David TANG, 18. Rory CINNAMOND, 19. SUNG Wai-shing, 20. Oliver OVERMAN, 21. Tomek TSANG, 2. Harry LAIDLER, 23. Lucas LACAMP 24. Tiarnan NEVILE, 25. Julian RIVERS, 26. Kyle McCALLUM.