Hong Kong Rugby Union (HKRU) provides dynamic, competitive and enjoyable rugby opportunities for students in Hong Kong. With Schools Rugby continue to grow, schools rugby is introduced to over 150 secondary schools, with a thriving community of around 100 active participating schools. 

The growth path of Schools Rugby depends both on The Hong Kong Schools Sports Federation (HKSSF) and HKRU working together. “The Inter-School Rugby Sevens Development Program” provides rugby demonstration and school team training to the students. The HKRU and HKSSF co-cooperate to host Inter-Secondary Schools Competition which gives excellent platform for students to execute their rugby skills and explore potential athletes to play for Hong Kong.

The rise in level of rugby skills and execution bring competitive rugby season, with increase in the numbers of school teams participate in the following Inter-Secondary Schools Sport Competitions:

18-19 Calendar

  • Boys A and Girls AB grade will be playing in Oct to Nov 2018.
  • Boys B grade will be playing in Jan to Feb 2019.
  • Boys and Girls C grade will be playing 7s TRY Rugby in Mar to Apr 2019.

Hong Kong Schools Sports Federation Online Entry System- CLICK HERE
Boys and Girls C grade applications deadline are 8th November 2018.

Competition information

HK Island & Kln Sec Schools Regional Committee Inter-Secondary Schools Competition - BOCHK Rugby Sevens Cup - CLICK HERE

New Territories Inter-School Rugby Sevens Competition - CLICK HERE

All Hong Kong Inter-School Rugby Sevens Competition – Girls Preliminary Round  - CLICK HERE

All Hong Kong Inter-School Rugby Sevens Competition  - CLICK HERE

Inter-School Rugby Sevens Development Program 2018-19  FORM DOWNLOAD

Would like to know more about the school rugby, please email to [email protected]

18/19 Inter-School Rugby Sevens Competition - Ranking

HKKLN Boys A Grade 
CUP Champion    Canadian International School of Hong Kong
2nd            Choi Hung Estate Catholic Secondary School
3rd         Ying Wa College
4th         HKUGA College
PLATE Champion   Kowloon Tong School (Secondary Section)
6th         La Salle College
7th         St. Louis School
BOWL Champion                Po Chiu Catholic Secondary School
SHIELD Champion              St. Joseph's College

Girls AB Grade 
CUP Champion        YMCA of Hong Kong Christian College
2nd            Heep Yunn School
3rd             Fung Kai No. 1 Secondary School
4th             Pui Tak Canossian College
PLATE Champion       De La Salle Secondary School N.T.
6th             HKUGA College
7th             Diocesan Girls' School
8th             Queen Elizabeth Sch. Old Students' Assn. Sec. Sch.
BOWL Champion        Hotung Secondary School
SHIELD Champion      Chiu Lut Sau Memorial Secondary School